Offutt Air Force Base   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > Offutt welcomes 2011 ACC Outstanding Airmen of the Year nominees
Offutt welcomes 2011 ACC Outstanding Airmen of the Year nominees

Posted 4/12/2011   Updated 4/13/2011 Email story   Print story


55th Wing

4/12/2011 - OFFUTT AIR FORCE BASE, Neb.  -- The 55th Wing warmly welcomes all annual Air Combat Command Outstanding Airmen of the Year nominees and their families, co-workers and friends to Omaha for this year's recognition week.

"From the minute they arrive Sunday, these Airmen will take part in a personalized schedule focused on recognizing their accomplishments and setting them up for success in the future," said Chief Master Sgt. Suzan K. Sangster, 55th Wing command chief.

The Command Chief Master Sergeant of Air Combat Command, Chief Master Sgt. Martin Klukas echoed Chief Sangster's comments. "These warriors represent the best and brightest of ACC. We're proud to have them in the command and look forward to recognizing their accomplishments."

"We take their selection as Outstanding Airmen very seriously, which is why the final selection board actually takes place here at Offutt," Chief Klukas said.

Each Airman will meet with a formal selection board of five chief master sergeants to be evaluated on their award packages, communication skills, and military image and the boards recommendations will be provided directly to the commander of ACC for a final decision, Chief Klukas said.

Nominees will also participate in several professional development activities.

"Being here gives our nominees and their guests a chance to interact firsthand with key ACC enlisted leaders," said Chief Klukas. "This year, we're honored that they'll also get to meet with fifth Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force Robert D. Gaylor.

While nominees are here, they will take in some of the great attractions the Omaha community has to offer, including visits to the Old Market and Henry Doorly Zoo, Chief Klukas said. "This year's event is certain to be a world-class event as a direct result of an extraordinary collaborative effort between the ACC staff and the superior Airmen and civilians assigned to Offutt AFB."

The nominees have already earned individual honors at the Numbered Air Force, Center, or Major Command staff levels in six categories: Airman of the Year, Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, Honor Guardsman of the Year, Honor Guard Program Manager of the Year and First Sergeant of the Year.

The week's events culminate with the ACC Outstanding Airmen of the Year Banquet on April 20.

On behalf of Team Offutt, congratulations to the following nominees:

Airman 1st Class Megan K. Whitmore, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
Senior Airman Ashley L. Bass, Creech AFB, Nev.
Senior Airman Adrian A. Torres, Shaw AFB, S.C.
Senior Airman Alexander C. Hardy, Fort Stewart, Ga.
Senior Airman Kailaigh E. Hutchens, Canadian Forces Base North Bay
Senior Airman Ulla B. Stromberg, Nellis AFB, Nev.

Tech. Sgt. Jennifer M. Griffiths, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
Tech. Sgt. Dennis W. Carr, Offutt AFB, Neb.
Tech. Sgt. Daniel G. Limoges, Al Udeid AB, Qatar
Tech. Sgt. Jeremy D. Phillips, Moody AFB, Ga.
Staff Sgt. Kara A. Farkas, Canadian Forces Base North Bay
Tech. Sgt. John A. Roberson, Hurlburt Field, Fla.

Senior Master Sgt. Randy G. Sabin, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
Senior Master Sgt. Melvin E. Jobe, Creech AFB, Nev.
Master Sgt. Neil E. Armstrong, Al Dhafra AB, UAE
Senior Master Sgt. James A. Purkey, Seymour-Johnson AFB, N.C.
Master Sgt. Jose C. Rubio, Nellis AFB, Nev.

Master Sgt. Danny L. Sellers, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
Senior Master Sgt. Kimberly S. Armijo, Holloman AFB, N.M.
Master Sgt. Kimberly A. Marshall, Al Udeid AB, Qatar
Senior Master Sgt. John G. Rogers, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
Master Sgt. Dorian A. Dillon, Eglin AFB, Fla.

Senior Airman E'lysia Hill, Holloman AFB, N.M.
Senior Airman Cortney L. Reeb, Beale AFB, Calif.
Airman 1st Class Iori S. Osawa, Shaw AFB, S.C.

Master Sgt. Christopher K. Ellis, Dyess AFB, Texas
Tech. Sgt. Kerwin S. Goden, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
Tech. Sgt. Desirae N. Thomas, Shaw AFB, S.C.

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside Offutt AFB

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act